1929 gift gave Lassen Park its first private museum, 40 acres and a seismograph

In 1914, homesteader Benjamin Loomis captured the dramatic eruptions of Lassen Peak through his photography. Along with his wife, Estella, he later established a museum and seismograph station on their land. This rich historical site was formally donated to the United States in 1929 and is now recognized as the Loomis Museum, serving to inform and engage visitors about the fascinating history of volcanic activity.
Read more at the source

Disclaimer: The content of this post is sourced from external sites and is for informational purposes only. All rights and credits belong to the original authors and publishers.